The Board

The Board is responsible for setting the organisation’s strategic direction. The Board sets policies, priorities and strategies for the Commission in performing its functions.

The Board members provide important links to the broader Victorian community, ensuring the Commission’s work remains relevant and responsive to the human rights issues that touch people every day.

Board members


Moana Weir (Chairperson)

Moana Weir is an experienced lawyer and Board member, with 15 years’ experience as company secretary and general counsel of ASX listed entities such as REA ( and SEEK, as well as serving on the board for V/Line Corporation (2010 to 2013) and Melbourne Montessori School Ltd. Moana is currently the Head of Legal for Regulatory and Consumer at Bupa ANZ.

Moana has senior management experience in leading legal, regulatory and risk management, corporate governance, sustainability management, corporate communications and external reporting.

She has a passion for driving real change and better outcomes in equal opportunity and human rights, including the areas of gender diversity and inclusion in the workplace.


TimGoodwinTim Goodwin

Tim Goodwin is a barrister, practicing primarily in commercial and public law. He has a Masters of Laws from Harvard Law School and is a member of the Indigenous Lawyers’ Committee, the Commercial Bar Association of the Victorian Bar and a member of the Australian Association of Constitutional Law.

Tim is a Board member of the Australian Research Alliance for Children and Youth and a Trustee of the Reichstein Foundation and the Roberta Sykes Indigenous Education Foundation.

Tim is a member of the Yuin people of the south-east coast of New South Wales.


Jennifer HuppertJennifer Huppert

Jennifer Huppert is a lawyer with nearly 30 years’ experience, practising largely in the area of commercial property, and is currently a special counsel at KHQ Lawyers.

Jennifer has a long involvement with the community and not-for- profit sector. She is currently president of the Jewish Community Council of Victoria, and has previously served on the Boards of the B’nai B’rith Anti-Defamation Commission, Youth Connect and the National Council of Jewish Women of Australia.

From February 2009 until November 2010 Jennifer was a member of the Legislative Council of the Parliament of Victoria, and prior to that served as a director of the Emergency Services and StateSuperannuation Board.


Laurinda GardnerLaurinda Gardner

Laurinda Gardner has more than 20 years’ experience working for not-for-profit, state and local government boards, and as a senior government executive leading large policy and operational teams.

Ms Gardner is one of three Administrators appointed in April 2016 by the Victorian Government to manage the responsibilities of the City of Greater Geelong Council. She has also consulted for a wide variety of government bodies including the Victorian Ombudsman, Victoria Police and the Victorian Managed Insurance Authority.

Ms Gardner served as Deputy Secretary for Organisational Reform, Corporate Strategy and Services, and Strategic Management within the Victorian Department of Treasury and Finance between 1998 and 2013.

She is a current board member and former chair of Berry Street, a not-for-profit association which helps young people and families recover from the effects of violence, abuse and neglect.


Faddy ZoukyFaddy Zouky

Faddy Zouky is the founding President of the Australia Lebanon Chamber of Commerce & Industry, a member of the Multicultural Commission of Victoria’s Small Business Ministerial Council, and the current Managing Partner of Zouki Lawyers and the Executive Director of the Zouki Group of companies.

Mr Zouky has a Master of Laws and has taught commercial law as an assistant lecturer at Monash University. He is a respected member of the Australian Lebanese community and has served as a United Nations Australian Ambassador for the UNDP Live Lebanon Project.

As a migration agent, Mr Zouky has assisted hundreds of people seeking to settle in Australia and was awarded the Order of Australia Medal in 2012 for his services to business and Victoria’s multicultural community.

Lodge a complaint with us
Chat live with us now
Subscribe to our eBulletin